Politics, Winchester Style

I went a little bit DVD crazy this weekend – yes there are still people out there that don’t do the download thing and that maybe even still own videos…. In my defence I was actually buying DVDs to replace videos of things that I still watch over and over again. So I think that’s justifiable.

I ended up buying Pan’s Labyrinth*, Sex and the City Seasons 1-6**, [REC], and OldBoy. So, quite a mix.

While browsing for these DVDs I picked up a copy of Supernatural. The description on the back was as follows:

“Sam Winchester (Jared Padalecki) grew up hunting such terrifying things. But that’s all in the past. Law school beckons him. So do safety and normalcy. That is until Sam’s estranged brother Dean (Jensen Ackles) appears with troubling news: their father, a man who’s been hunting evil for 22 years, has disappeared.”

I actually took a photo of this text but thought showcasing SamnDean was more appropriate.

Ok so there’s nothing technically wrong here. It’s just a bit odd. A bit stilted. In particular the use of normalcy really jarred with me. I kept rereading it thinking “normality, don’t they mean normality? ” Normalcy just sounds like they’re trying too hard and have somehow created a new form of the word.

I had to look it up when I got home. Normalcy does exist***. But it is usually used in America to refer to a state in politics rather than someone’s life without demons.

But thanks SamnDean, educational, and hot.

*this was actually to replace the DVD that apparently stopped playing when I lent it to someone, at the point where the horrible eyes-in-hands creature starts chasing the little girl.

** Seasons 1 and 2 were on video – I was getting incredibly sick of watching trailers for Frasier everytime I wanted to watch the early seasons. And now, bonus, it takes up much less space on the shelf and is housed in a cute pink box with velvety butterflies and shoes on it. And there’s an extras DVD too!

*** That sounded deep.

One thought on “Politics, Winchester Style

Leave a Reply

