Words Fail Me

I’m so ashamed.

My grammar and spelling crown shall be taken from me and smashed into smithereens. I can no longer mock the spelling afflictions of others and I must go and write lines for being so naughty.

In my post about the wonderful Skeptic’s Dictionary, I spelt the word ‘definite’ incorrectly (I’ve fixed it now of course, thanks to ThriftyGal). It wasn’t a typo, I seriously have a problem with spelling this word. It always, always, always ends up being ‘definate’. See, even now, I’m doubting if this is the right way round (*goes off to check….*).

Blogging is so instant and so easily editable; I can feel my standards slipping. I must take care to heed my own advice and always check the spelling.

There are a number of words that I find myself pausing over. Maybe if I write some lines a hundred times over, I’ll manage to remember them. Here goes:
“It is definitely necessary to remember how to spell cemetery by using this surprising sentence, now pop it in your calendar to write out in full every day for a year.”
“It is definitely necessary to remember how to spell cemetery by using this surprising sentence, now pop it in your calendar to write out in full every day for a year.”
“It is definitely necessary to remember how to spell cemetery by using this surprising sentence, now pop it in your calendar to write out in full every day for a year.”
Hmn… not so catchy…

Leave a Reply

