Annoying Americanisms

The BBC just published this piece on Americanisms: your 50 most noted examples.  How many are you guilty of?

My pet hate is Number 1: “Can I get....” and I know people who say that.

One of my friends, “Real Ale Alan”, takes issue with Number 45.

I am guilty of saying ‘season’ for ‘series’ (Number 44).

I have already blogged on Number 25: Normalcy (and what a great excuse to go and look at some pictures of SamnDean).

I might be missing something with Number 22 and his problem with ‘train station’*, if so… My bad!

*self-edit – My bad indeed…. it should be railway station of course, what a terrible crime against language 🙂

One thought on “Annoying Americanisms

Leave a Reply

